Jinah Adam \’s Official weBlog..
my thoughts, my projects, my intrests, my reviews, my life ….

Bank Of Maldives. “credit act”? .. “error”? . . or just bitting off more than they can chew

They have accomplished so much.. over years. house loans, personal loans.. credit cards, debit cards… that being said.

I am having an apparently unresolvable issue with my debit card(VISA). Previously the card has proven very useful to me, with me being abroad and being a student an all. But the last 2 months i have had some losses because of it, alot more than usual that is. (profit to the bank of cause ;) ).

On a normal day, first i would check the balance(BML gain 10rf) , then withdraw(BML gain 25rf).Even on a normal day the balance would not be very accurate. Calculating the account balance is a very complicated process, there are alot of complex algorithms involved and given the intelligence of the accountants and the processing power of their servers, the balance is shown to the user with a + or – 2000rm error margin. So in the end i might end up checking the balance a few more times(BML gain 10rf for each) and withdrawing a few more times(BML gain 25rf each time).

On a problematic day, which is what i have been having for the last 2 months. I would check the balance(BML gain 10rf), withdraw… Ooops. “Insufficent balance”. to double check i would check my balance again..Ooops! “Insufficent balance”.. Then i would call home(Overseas call) check weather my allowance have been deposited. After confirmation check again!. same problem. I would check a couple of times . give it a few more days, check a couple of times again before calling home. and everytime i check, to display the message “insufficent balance” BML gains 10rf.

So someone from back home will go to the bank the next day, talk to some one there and the problem will be solved. I can withdraw. Was the money there? Yes. Why couldn’t i withdraw? I violated a credit act. How? Why? Cannot give u the details its confidential.

The following month. same problem. I don’t know how i am violating the credit act but every time i deposit money to my account it freezes, and before i can withdraw, i have to check balance several times, try to withdraw that many times and someone have to go to the BML main branch and unfreeze my account.(with some drama ofcause).

10 Responses to “Bank Of Maldives. “credit act”? .. “error”? . . or just bitting off more than they can chew”

  1. This is a usual thing. have so many places. its freaky, when you VISA doesn’t work & you are abroad with no cash. WE NEED MORE BANKS IN OUR COUNTRY.

  2. how BML runs – just Suckz.. i too had such a problem, i have found BML calculating my balance wrong. even on the report they sent me.

  3. :|
    Now that is scary. Thanks for um tipping me off though. I was planning to rely on the VISA Debit Card myself. =)

  4. ca: yup more banks with debit cards
    sparks of silence: ur welcome. unless u want to starve to death or somethin u wudnt want to rely in a BML debit card.

  5. ahh.. so u got it then?

  6. yea eventually. hehe.

  7. I am having the same problem.. it keeps rejecting my card. I have written several emails to them but with no solution…
    i hate them.. someone got to write directly to visa about this.. this is unacceptabble..

  8. ive had the same problem

  9. well, hi admin adn people nice forum indeed. how’s life? hope it’s introduce branch ;)

  10. […] Bank Of Maldives. “credit act”? .. “error”? . . or just bitting off more 14 октября 2007 my thoughts, my projects, my intrests, my reviews, my life …. Bank Of […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

